Counseling

BHS Counseling Department

School counselors are advocates for students’ well-being and are a valuable resource for their educational journey. First and foremost, counselors listen to students’ concerns. Because everyone’s home and social life is different and often impacts learning, counselors are there to support students holistically, as they face personal, social, and academic challenges.  

School counselors:

  • Listen to students’ concerns about academic, emotional or social problems
  • Help students process their problems and plan goals and action
  • Evaluate student's abilities, interests and personalities to help develop academic and career goals
  • Mediate conflict between students and teachers, or students and students
  • Promote self-advocacy to take charge of their education
  • Assist with post high school planning, college search, college applications, and scholarships
  • Facilitate drug and alcohol prevention programs
  • Refer students to psychologists and other mental health resources
  • Are creative problem-solvers and put our students's needs first

Meet the Team

Students are assigned to a counselor alphabetically by the student's last name. Need to make an appointment with your counselor? Call 425-408-7019 or email kduhamel@nsd.org.

picture of Kelly Duhamel

Kelly Duhamel
Office Manager
425-408-7019 kduhamel@nsd.org

photo of Lisa Carson

Lisa Carson
Counselor (A-E)
425-408-7021
lcarson@nsd.org

A Blue and White B

Colin Eggers
Counselor (F-K)
425-408-7022 ceggers@nsd.org

photo of Rob Felton

Rob Felton
Counselor (L-Q)
425-408-7020
rfelton@nsd.org

photo of Danielle Yamada

Danielle Yamada
Counselor (R-Z)
425-408-7023
dyamada@nsd.org

picture of Heidi Yonago

Heidi Yonago 
School Psychologist
425-408-7029  hyonago@nsd.org

photo of BJ Dawson

BJ Dawson
Career & College Readiness  High School & Beyond Coordinator
425-408-7028 bdawson@nsd.org

pen drawing of woman on motorcycle wearing  a helmet

Lisa Ottinger
Registrar
425-408-7018  lottinger@nsd.org

Contact

Office Hours

7:00 a.m. - 3:45 p.m.
Monday - Friday

Phone:
425-408-7019

Fax:
425-408-7027

Email

kduhamel@nsd.org